Lene Kaaberbol & Agnete Friis

These women work together to create the Nina Borg series of books which started with The Boy in the Suitcase. Nina Borg, the protagonist, is a Red Cross nurse working with the immigrants of Denmark. In each book Nina becomes entangled in an international mystery involving forces outside Denmark that put her and her patients in danger.

Nina is also a wife and mother and her involvement with the criminals sometimes puts her family in danger and interferes with her relationship with her husband.

The mood is always menacing and the pace steady and unrelenting. The authors usually tell the story in chapters or scenes that alternate between the action in Denmark and the action of the criminals outside or inside Denmark. The plots can be very involved and tricky, so the reader must stay on their “toes.”

Gritty and dark, these books will satisfy readers who want to find a story based on man’s darkest motives and sometimes, psychotic evil.

Read the books in order:

The Boy in the Suitcase

Invisible Murder

The Death of a Nightingale

The Considerate Killer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s